Sprinkles on my bacon

Fairs are one of my favorite things about the fall. I mean, what’s not to love about seeing cheesy arts and crafts, people watching, and which pumpkin won the blue ribbon this year? As a kid, the rides and fair food were my favorite things – if I could eat fries with vinegar AND ride the Gravitron without getting sick, it was a successful visit 🙂

Friday night, I went to Winston-Salem for the opening night of the Dixie Classic Fair. Now fairs down South are in a league of their own when it comes to the food – they’re a fried food paradise! Fried Twinkies, fried Snickers, fried Reeses … they can fry any candy bar imaginable. Fried macaroni and cheese? Done. Fried cheesecake?  Done. And don’t worry, for the health-conscious, they even have fried vegetables.

My goal was to try two things: fried butter and chocolate-covered bacon. Before you wrinkle your nose in disgust, I’d heard that both were delicious and worth a try. But it took forever to find a stand that sold them! I swear, finding the fried butter was like finding the Holy Grail. On our quest, we found a few other delicious treats, like roasted corn, fried mac n cheese and this delicacy:

Really the sandwich was grilled, not fried, but it was SO GOOD!

We stopped to see some animals:

And then we looked at large crops and crafts:

We took in the sights:

And then – we found it.

Yes, these are sprinkles on my chocolate-covered bacon. Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.

And after enjoying the feast, we felt like this:

The fried butter was pretty great, although the bacon was not. But it was so worth it 🙂 And lucky for me, the state fair is in just a few weeks, so I can do it all over again …

4 Comments

Filed under Adventure

4 responses to “Sprinkles on my bacon

  1. Rob Mo

    Damn it, I am jealous. I’m feeling deep-fried butter at Thanksgiving.

  2. Pingback: Y’all can come back tomorrow « Adventure Taker

  3. Sarah Michelin

    I just want to make sure that everyone knows that the girl with the smoke in her hand…she’s only pregnant with a food baby…. Not actually pregnant as it seems in the photograph.

    Sincerely,
    The Girl With The Smoke

Leave a Reply

