Strangers’ sweat

Savasana is a really relaxing yoga posture. Doing it in between other postures or as the final posture in class re-energizes and relaxes the body. However, yesterday as I was lying on my back in final savasana, some other people were walking out of the classroom and drip drip – I felt strangers’ sweat drip on my forehead. Talk about an eeeeew moment.Let me tell you that there is nothing relaxing about feeling someone drip sweat on you. Friend or stranger, it’s not a pleasant experience. But I can hardly blame them for their misplaced sweat because yesterday’s 2-hour advanced class was extra sweaty. We learned new postures in addition to the usual 26 including tripod which I am thrilled to say I was able to do!

Source

I’m still loving the month-long bikram challenge. It’s been quite the adventure; not only am I pushing my body to see what it’s capable of, but my mind is getting a workout too. Mental determination is more important than one’s level of physical fitness – your brain can easily talk you out of doing something that seems hard, unless you tell it who’s boss. And then there are some days that my body just isn’t having it. Today, for example, was one of those days. Blame it on lack of sleep, maybe not enough water and an intense class yesterday, but I had to take a lot of breaks today, more than I’ve ever had to. It was humbling and ego-busting, but our challenge instructor told us that this week would be especially tough.

So I’ll be back at it tomorrow morning, ready to see what my body and mind are capable of. Bring on the sweat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure

Leave a Reply

