Yoga coaster

This week has been an emotional roller coaster (aka yoga coaster) when it comes to my yoga practice. Monday’s class was the toughest I’ve ever done, to the point that I had to lie down for a good amount so I’d stop seeing stars. And then today, it was all I could do to fight back tears during the two-hour advanced class.In some ways, the third week of my month-long sweaty adventure was great. I finally figured out what it truly means to have locked legs in the deep breathing (Pranayama) and standing head to knee (Dandayamana-Janushirasana) poses. I found my hamstrings in standing separate leg stretching pose (Dandayamana-Bibhaktapada-Paschimotthanasana) poses, and I realized where I’m actually supposed to put my arms in locust pose (Salabhasana). Yet other poses that used to be easy are now hard, and my body feels tired and sore most of the time.

The instructor told us that this would be a challenging process because our bodies are detoxing, and experiencing headaches, soreness, exhaustion and intense emotions is normal. Knowing this doesn’t make it much easier when it happens though.

I’m thrilled with all the improvements I’ve made, and enjoy the constant challenge of pushing my body and seeing how my abilities differ from day to day. All I can do is take it one day at a time and continue riding this yoga coaster until I feel better, and continue being positive about my body’s capabilities.

Leave a comment

Filed under Adventure

Leave a Reply

