No check, please

The phrase “Check, please” is no longer in my vocabulary. For Lent this year, I’ve decided to stop eating out at restaurants.

While I am not Catholic, the idea of sacrificing something for Lent has always appealed to me. What can I say, I’m a girl who loves a good challenge.

I’ve realized lately that my social life in large part revolves around food. Mostly because going out to eat is an easy way to get together with friends, plus it’s fun to try all the great restaurants in the area. However, it’s also expensive, especially since I eat out several times per week. According to my finance tracker on Mint.com, in February I spent $167.69 on restaurants/food & dining and coffee shops. That’s about $42 per week – what a waste of money. So at the end of Lent, I’m going to make a donation to a charity of my choice, so that my sacrifice can be used to help others. I haven’t decided which charity to choose just yet, but am sure I can figure it out during the next 39 days.

Restaurants and takeout are off limits, which includes the Whole Foods salad bar (one of my biggest weaknesses), and so are coffee shops. My plan is to host lots of potluck dinner parties, which are often more fun than eating out anyways.

I probably should have gone out for a phenomenal meal on Fat Tuesday; instead my celebration consisted of attending a bikram yoga class and going to bed at 10pm. I think my Medieval rave a few weekends ago makes up for my lameness.

What are you giving up for Lent?

1 Comment

Filed under Adventure

One response to “No check, please

  1. Pingback: So far, so good | Adventure Taker

Leave a Reply

